Autor Thema: Rookie help connecting OPC-server  (Gelesen 15248 mal)

Offline Desmond

Rookie help connecting OPC-server
« am: November 19, 2009, 15:00:28 Nachmittag »
Hello guys,

I'm a 21year computer scientist working on a PLC project. My local ice rink decided they would try to implement a PLC system to meassure several split times. Unaware of the complications regarding PLC and OPC i said yes to help out with this project.

Our system exist of following:

6 light way censors connected to a EASY512 PLC

I've got easy-soft 6.1 pro and a  EASY-PC-CAB cabel.

So far what I've learned after gazillions of googles and who know what i have come  to the conclussion.

1. I need to setup up a working OPC-server
2. Connect the OPC-server with a 3rd party OPC-client program
3. Extra the data from the 3rd party client program to excel

Is that entirely wrong??

But none the less everytime i google "how to connect a OPC-server" i get several of solutions but everyone involes massiv reading of information i have no idea to dechiper.

Yesterday i think i did manage to install the moeller OPC-server software correct. And i tried to follow the step by step guide supplied in the "Help". But once again i belive i came up short.

So is there any guide out there which basicly breaks down how to connect this god damn  EASY-512 plc to a OPC-server and how to extract the data..

Kind Regards,
Des

Offline befu

Re: Rookie help connecting OPC-server
« Antwort #1 am: November 25, 2009, 13:39:54 Nachmittag »
Hello Desmond,

You should write your PLC program for the easy512 as needed for your project. The point is: You have to activate the generation of an OPC symbol data file. This is done under the menu "options" by activating "create OPC symbol data file" (the names may differ a little bit, I have a german version of easySoft V6.40 Pro). At least after saving your project you should find a file with the name of your project and the file extension ".esd".